Near or Far : My God with me

temple

Do I get less blessed here !  with nobody , crowd,  around ?  only the deity of God ,myself & my family in the vicinity !   This flashing thought intrigued me that day , kept me measuring my understandings of religion , spirituality , devotion or God , when ,I , along with my family recently visited a temple near my ancestral village , around 140 km from the state capital ( Bhubaneswar,India) . The beautiful temple sorrounded by nature all over-river touching it’s feet ,mangroves & other trees ..adding to the serene atmosphere, providing a deeper feeling to heart and mind .The temple that day , had no visitors except my family and a servitor of temple .

while still enjoying the nature, the sublime place , triggering spiritualism in me , I could not stop remembering my experience I  had few days back in another famous temple in a different metro city (India)  where I  was in a long serpentine queue for 3 hours to have  a glimpse of God , amidst heavy rush , lots of commotion .

while I don’t have any bias or disliking as such , against my or our visiting any famed , busy place of worship, be it a temple, mosque or a church , I was feeling as if many questions going unanswered in my mind !   I very well knew that visiting a famous place of worship any where of any religion , does invoke in us a sense of devotion to God by seeing many people there . Still , sitting on the verandah of that temple just in front of the presiding deity face to face , I started reasoning out that day : whether the blessings from God of this remote , lesser known temple would be any less compared to visiting a historically important , bigger, more-happening & famous temple adorning the same God,any where in the world !

My conviction level , logic, understandings ..kept assuring me  : ” I will be, if I deserve, equally blessed by the God , irrespective of size , stature, reputation , location of place of worship, for the simple reason that – the Omnipresent God is every where , in every thing ! He (God) controls me , he is within me , he knows me & he loves me . He blesses me on the basis of ” the real ME ” within me and the actions I do ( law of karma in Hinduism) , No matter which place of worship I visit or don’t  visit at all . My blessings will not be any inferior visiting a  near by , lesser known place of God compared to a  far off , famous place of God . ”  My heart went on convincing me that it was never a matter of Near or Far but content and intent !

still in my world of such thoughts , this beautiful  poem by Nobel Laureate Rabindranath Tagore flashed in my mind : ( written in Bengali language – one of multi languages of India)

” Bohu din dhore bohu kros dure , bohu byay kori bohu desh ghure , Dekhite giyechi porbotmala,dekhite giyechi sindhu. Dekha hoy nai chokkhu meliya, ghor hote sudhu dui paa feliya Ekti dhaner shisher upore ekti shishir bindu  ” 

Translated in English it means : ”  I have travelled miles , for many years . I have spent a lot to see the mountains and oceans. But I have missed seeing just two steps away from home the sheaf of paddy grain on which a dew drop glistens ”

The poem encapsulates not just the ethos of travel but also of human nature , our true understanding, our prospective to life , where the glamorous distant attracts us more than simple pleasures , simple insights ..near by .

stock-photo-5541637-morning-drop

              

 

 

 

10 comments

  1. ninja network · May 19, 2016

    God bless u always
    Reblogged

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Near or Far : My God with me – Engineer Marine Skipper
  3. ssidhi · May 20, 2016

    Tranquillity of a spiritual place does invoke a lot of thoughts about self and the universe that guides and governs us.. they seem to be overwhelming and omnipotent. Some we rationalised while a lot is lost in trying to connect with the larger self… our soul.

    Well said sirji

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Springstart@life : Kamakhya · May 20, 2016

    Tranquility of a spiritual place at times insinuate us to think beyond the mundane things… searching the right connect for the soul with the Creator . A greater wisdom, perception many a times are found in simple and near by sources rationalizing our prospective to life. Thank you Sid , I appreciate your take on this.God bless.

    Like

  5. springtimeforever · June 3, 2016

    During my secondary schooling, an ad on simplicity frequently flashed on Doordarshan. The lines were:
    ” The greatness of this man was his simplicity. Let’s discover Gandhi in ourselves.”

    This article reminded me that ad.
    God is everywhere. Stay simple, stay happy.

    Like

    • Springstart@life : Kamakhya · June 3, 2016

      Thank you, Glad that you could relate to your school days thro this post n see the rationale behind our popular convictions.you rightly said ..God is everywhere,stay simple,stay blessed😂

      Like

  6. yaswtanu · June 6, 2016

    Very nice thoughts indeed!!! Loved reading it and would love to visit this place sometime.

    Do read our blog and let us know
    https://vegancoupleblog.wordpress.com/2016/04/04/khajuraho/

    Like

  7. Pingback: Near or Far : My God with me — thenewleaf2016 – happy celebration pics

Leave a Reply

